Religious Education

Religious Education is part of the core curriculum for all students from Years 7 to 12. The program seeks to provide students with a comprehensive knowledge of the Catholic faith, along with a capacity to think critically, reflect deeply and translate values into action.

In Years 7 to 10, the curriculum is based on the Melbourne Archdiocese Religious Education Curriculum Framework covering five content strands:

  • Scripture and Jesus
  • Church and community
  • God, religion and life
  • Prayer, Liturgy and Sacrament
  • Morality and justice.

Our Year 11 students compete two units of work.

  • What a Wonderful World - examines environmental issues and associated social justice impacts. Students explore different voices in society, including the Church's 'voice' as it is proclaimed in both scripture and within the papal encyclical Laudato Si'.
  • I am Woman - explores the roles and treatment of women in society and within the Christian community. Sacred scripture is explored to highlight how Jesus is our role model in the just treatment of women. The emphasis throughout this unit is on the human dignity of all people.

In Year 12 students complete a rotation of four school-based units of work:

  • Christ figures in film
  • Ethics
  • Relationships and sexuality
  • Social justice.

The classroom-based curriculum complements the College’s wider faith and mission ethos, placing emphasis on the charism of the Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart and the OLSH Pillars of Education, the pursuit of social justice and the central place of liturgy and prayer in Christian living.